£9.9
FREE Shipping

The Song Walker

The Song Walker

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

A young girl as no idea how long she has been walking or where she has come from. Where she has been walking for so long her foot is hurting leaving one shoe hanging off the shoe. A young girl is alone walking through the wild landscape; she can’t remember who she is, where she is or why she is here. After a long cold night out in this place she is found by another young girl. This one is native to the land, a First Nation Australian; her name is Tarni. Respect for ancient traditions and the powerful connections between people and places is an important aspect of this remarkable and beautifully written story. We also confront the imbalance of power between the First Country and the white community reflected in the importance put on the life of a white girl but not on that of a First Country girl. This book has a powerful message of equality and empathy, spirituality and identity. An intense and rewarding reading experience that fans of her debut novel The Shark Caller will absolutely devour.

The ending of the book is unforeseen, breathtaking. Your heart rests in your mouth waiting for resolution.

There are three questions that I need to find the answers to: Where am I? What am I doing here? And... Who am I? As they journey across the scorched desert, the true understanding of friendship and life becomes apparent. Each helping the other in unexpected ways. Bestselling author Alexandra Christo, author of TikTok sensation To Kill a Kingdom, introduces her new book, The Night Hunt (Hot Key Books), a dark... A book that writes of bellbirds and wondering spirits, of wild peaches and brumby horses, of the dreamtime and songlines, of classical music and indigenous culture. But at its essence a book that writes of the true connection between people.

Dapo Adeola, Tracy Darnton, Joseph Coelho and Chitra Soundar are among the 19 authors and illustrators longlisted for the Inclusive Books for Child... Wow! Zillah Bethell's new story, after the amazing 'The Shark Caller', is incredible. Out next month, 'The Song Walker' is a brilliantly blazing, dream-time rhapsody of a children's book. Urgent, mysterious and singing with raw emotion, it is a book that seizes you immediately and never lets go. A story about survival, identity, the nature of existence and, at its heart, how friendship can save us, 'The Song Walker' is already a top book for 2023. The young girl is found in the dessert hungry thirsty, and sunburnt with only one shoe on. She is rescued by a young girl Tarni. Perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell and Eva Ibbotson, this is an astonishing story about friendship and finding the courage to move on. Written in Zillah Bethell's spellbinding and beautiful style, The Song Walker is set to become a modern-day classic. About This Edition ISBN:

Customer reviews

This is a really brilliant middle grade adventure story full of bellbirds and brumby horses, music and culture. I couldn't put it down! I have read The Shark Caller and yet was still surprised by the revelations towards the end. First Country beliefs are cleverly woven into the story, and Tarni uses some Alyawarre words which are made clear by the context, but a Glossary is available to explain them all. There is a charming sub-plot about Tarni’s relationship with a honey-eater bird with a broken wing, whom she carries around in a home-made cage, and is reluctant to let free when he is well enough- another instance, like the sister, of the need to let go. Author Anna Kemp introduces The Hollow Hills, the sequel to her dark magical tale, Into Goblyn Wood. Tarni says she will take Magpie with her - but where is she going? The girls seemingly have nothing in common but as their journey continues they become friends who are willing to stand up for each other. Not everything goes to plan, and everything is not as it seems. At a petrol station that Magpie doesn't go with her to, Tarni finds out something important. But she doesn't tell Magpie. The Song Walker is a soulful story that beautifully serenades the reader with themes of freedom, identity, music and heritage. Zillah Bethell’s writing always takes readers to new horizons.

That is the beauty of Zillah Bethell's writing. How she transports you with every sentence, carries you along chapter by chapter, wraps you in a story that has depth, power, heart, meaning, but most of all humanity. This is a journey of discovery and friendship while it gently teaches the reader about Australia and some of its history and ancient belief in 'The Dreaming'. I learnt quite a lot myself. The ending pulls together another aspect of First Nation beliefs, and flows easily into the final chapter.

Zillah Bethell Press Reviews

I really enjoyed this; it would suit young readers who are looking for a friendship and adventure story or who are interested in cultural fiction.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop